Romeo and Juliet Project Reflection

Project

Now that I’ve completed Romeo and Juliet, I had to create a project. This project was to make us connect with the play more, on a creative level. There were many options, from making a movie poster to making a song about the play, but one caught my eye, creating a Romeo and Juliet playlist.

Playlist here

Explanation here

There were many, many options I could have picked for this project, but I felt like the playlist was the most like me. I have an enormous love for music, and creating a playlist gave me a chance to share my music taste. Music is how I speak, and it was hard to limit the songs to choose for this playlist.

Reflection

As much as I despised the sappyness of Romeo and Juliet, I felt very proud of my playlist, but that might be because I’m proud of my music taste. I got giddy writing my playlist, and picking songs I’m passionate about. I love anything related to music, even if I have to write this reflection about it.

On the other hand, I hated how I was limited to six songs. Before I got a closer look at the instructions,  I already had twelve songs. To tell you the truth I wouldn’t have even minded writing an explanation for each.

I loved the idea of being able to combine something I’m passionate about with this story.

What’s Next?

One thing I’d like to try to improve on is creativity. I’m not the best at coming up with ideas. Many kids in my class did amazing things with their playlist, Prezis, Videos, but instead, I’m boring and presenting my project as a powerpoint.

I know, basic.

If I had a chance to change my soundtrack, I’d come up with something creative to present it with. I don’t know what, but it’ll be better.

Evaluation

In meeting standards, I normally excel. With this new rubric, truthfully, I don’t know how I did. This rubric is unique, though. The requirements were to “Make it Beautiful,” “Make it Relevant,” “Make it Poignant,” “Make it Unique,” “Make it Clear.” A bit confusing.

IMG_0908.jpgPersonally, I feel I met only some of these goals.

Making it Beautiful. I had trouble with this step. I don’t know how to make anything beautiful. Like I said, I’m basic. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and I have no clue what beauty was in my project. I can see a glimmer in it, with my insight, but I don’t know if it’s beautiful enough.

Making it Relevant and Clear. I thought I did a good job connecting my music to the story. I tried extremely hard to make the purpose clear and giving clear insight.

Making it Poignant. I’m hoping I made my project stick to people. Personally, anything related to music sticks with me and I hope my musical taste sticks with people.

Making it Unique. Compared to other people’s playlist, visually, I’m not extremely unique. Nothing sticks out. I’m just another stick in the flame. Content wise, I think I was slightly more unique. I tried to connect my songs, not only by lyrics, but with tone and musically too. I tried to mention the way the music moves while writing my explanation, and I hope it made me more unique than others.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑